Essentials

DSC_0001I have recently recieved questions about some of the foods I eat as many people are curious how I get nutrients from being a vegan. Here is a sample of the things that are ALWAYS in my fridge and pantry. Due to lack of space, I had to leave some things out, and this is not entirely what my diet consists of.

DSC_0007Starting with veggies, which should comprise of about 50-60% of a healthy diet, here is a variety of fresh ones that I consume regularly. Kale, collards, spinach and other leafy greens are full of vitamins including iron, calcium, and even some protein which vegans/vegetarians have a hard time finding.

DSC_0014Next are some fruits, obviously I don’t just eat the ones present in the picture but fruits are an awesome source of all the range of vitamins and some healthy carbs to keep you powered through the day. Since I am a runner, bananas are my favorite as they are packed with nutrients and not as watery as most fruit. Living in a place like Palo Alto, everyone takes for granted how available/cheap fresh, organic produce is. In other places it is immensely difficult to find outdoor farmers markets that supply fruits and veggies year round.

DSC_0012In terms of protein, peanut butter and other nut butters are an awesome source of healthy fats and protein, as well as beans and legumes, tofu, and raw nuts in general. For non vegetarians/vegans, dairy products such as cheese, yogurt and cottage cheese are great sources of protein, as well as lean red meat and chicken. Something that I have only recently started eating has been chia seeds which can be added to smoothies and mixed in with peanut butter and granola. They are super high in iron and calcium as well as a mediocre source of protein.

DSC_0017As far as grains go, whole wheat bread, oats, brown rice, whole wheat couscous, quinoa and whole wheat pasta are generally the most common health “carbs” available to be eaten.

DSC_0003It’s always important to stay balanced. Don’t beat yourself up just because you indulged every once in a while. My biggest temptations are dark chocolate and french fries and I allow myself to eat both in moderation since life is all about balance!

Love,

– Rachael

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

