Smoothies

Screen Shot 2014-09-22 at 3.41.30 PMI noticed that most of the recipe posts have been on baked goods and other sweets which gives the misconception that I eat a lot of dessert which sadly is not true. Part of leading a healthy lifestyle is *sigh* eliminating most dessert foods and other sweet things. Smoothies on the other hand, are wholesome sources of sugar and sweetness if I find myself craving dessert. From popular request by some of my friends, here are two of my favorite smoothie recipes; classic strawberry banana and tropical.

DSC_0006

DSC_0010The cool thing about making both of these at the same time is that some of the ingredients layover with each other. You can easily make one for yourself and another for a friend!

For Strawberry Banana

  • half a banana
  • 3/4 cup frozen rasberries
  • 2/3 cup sliced fresh strawberries (overripe will be sweeter)
  • splash milk (I use almond/soy)

DSC_0011

Put all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth 🙂

DSC_0020For Tropical

  • 2/3 cup strawberries
  • half a banana
  • 1/2 cup frozen pineapple
  • medium sized peach
  • splash milk beverage

DSC_0014

Again combine all ingredients into a blender and enjoy the deliciousness!

DSC_0026

A little side thought, with school now in full swing, I hear many of my classmates saying that they wish they could eat healthier but they’re so stressed out that it never happens. YOUR HEALTH IS THE MOST IMPORTANT THING. You only get one body for the rest of your life so take care of it. I know the temptation to eat food that makes you feel good while eating it but terrible afterwards is strong, but your resolve to take the time and make a smoothie or another healthy snack must be stronger. I myself have been down and extremely stressed recently but I have found that continuing to eat well and exercise improves my mood. Even making food or going for a run takes my mind of things and distracts me from the present.

Love ❤

– Rachael

Leave a Reply

