The Little Things in Life

As someone on the brink of leaving the nest and the comforts of home, I’ve found myself spending less and less time at home and with my family. I had a revelation the other day that family is forever, and the most important thing in our lives. We can not break up with our families no matter how much we may want to, we can not spontaneously become ungenetically related to our siblings, and most importantly we can not ignore the unconditional, although tough sometimes, love that our families provide. I decided to cook dinner for my mother and little sister (my dad is currently on a business trip) and really sit and eat with them and have good conversation with them.

DSC_0079I made a vegan lentil soup with onions, celery, kale and indian spices, long grain brown rice and a nice baby greens side salad. The soup was super easy, just follow the directions for cooking on a dried lentil package, pre sauteé a medium sized chopped onion and about three stalks of celery and add to the cooked lentils. Lastly add the chopped kale and cook until soft.

DSC_0064

DSC_0072

DSC_0069On a lovely side not I was voted Health Freak 2015 for my schools pop polls which was very flattering. So many people put so much emphasis and importance on trivial things and completely lose sight of much much more important aspects of life it makes me sad.

DSC_0075

DSC_0076Take a moment to stare at the universe and you will comprehend that your problems are so little in comparison to the vastness that is the galaxy. That’s what I do when I’m feeling down 🙂

Enjoy!

– Rachael

Leave a Reply

