New Years

IMG_0653Happy New Year!!!

Salut from Canada! Sorry to be so absent of late, with everyone focused on college apps and finals it has been extremely difficult to find time and energy to create good posts. However, with all that behind us (thankfully) Danielle and I have MUCH more creative ideas in store for 2015!

I am currently spending the last few days of winter break in British Columbia, my second home, with my entire family, snowboarding at Whistler Blackcomb, hiking and sightseeing around Vancouver, and most importantly eating good food. Today I spend the better part of the afternoon learning the recipe secrets form my Nai Nai (Chinese for grandmother) and was taught how to make Baozi, delectable vegetable stuffed steamed dumplings.

IMG_0827Although these dumplings appear to be quite complex to make, they are in fact, quite complex. In loyalty to my grandmother, I feel as though I can not give the exact measurements and full list of ingredients, so instead I will give you the general idea of how to make these, you can always google a recipe 😉

IMG_0659The dough starts out with the usual ingredients, warm water, yeast, flour and a sprinkle of sugar. The dough is risen for about 45 minutes until doubled and poofy.

IMG_0666IMG_0673IMG_0671

Filling

  • Chives
  • Rice Noodles (soaked in water)
  • Shitake Mushrooms
  • Chinese Cabbage
  • Bean Curd (white or black)
  • Ginger
  • Water Chestnuts
  • Sesame Oil
  • Light Soy Sauce
  • Salt

IMG_0683 IMG_0800The dough is cut into sizeable chunks and rolled in a very specific, complicated manner that results in flattened outer edges and thicker middles. IMG_0689 IMG_0734 IMG_0690 IMG_0708 IMG_0711A spoonful of filling is added to the center of the rolled out dough and then the really complicated stuff happens. There is a very specific way of folding up the Bauzi that took me about five botched dumplings to become competent at. IMG_0748 IMG_0726 IMG_0775 IMG_0758 Face.jpgHumorously enough, my sister, who helped photograph with bad iPhone quality (my Nikon was left in the States), captured a sequence of photos involving a sad face getting slowly twisted into submission.

The resulting dumplings are steamed for about 20 minutes and served! IMG_0761 IMG_0807 IMG_0809 IMG_0798The resulting meal was absolutely delicious. One of the main things I miss about not seeing my grandparents very much is my Nai Nai’s world class cooking!

IMG_0815 IMG_0821 IMG_0811I hope everyone has an amazing 2015 and stay tuned for a year of healthy living!

Much Love,

Rachael

Leave a Reply

